The Euless Police Department is dedicated to providing the best police service possible to all citizens. Employees are carefully selected and trained to provide service to the community. This page gives an overview of the ways to commend exemplary performance or file a complaint against a Police Department Employee.
If you see a Police Department Employee perform outstanding work, tell the employee - or us - about it. Following are suggestions for commending an employee.
How to commend a Police Department employee:
- Write a letter or a note to the employee's supervisor, Assistant Chief or Police Chief at:
Euless Police DepartmentCommendations are logged and placed in the employee's permanent personnel file.
1102 W. Euless Blvd.
Euless, Texas 76040
- Call the Police Department at 817-685-1500 and ask to speak with the employee's supervisor.
- If you are unsure of the employee's name, describe the employee and list the specific actions or demeanor that impressed you. Mention the location, date and time the incident occurred.
- Contact the Euless Police Department Internal Affairs Section by submitting a request through Access Euless.
The Euless Police Department is vitally interested in taking action when its employees are derelict in their duties or are guilty of wrongdoing. Your complaint will be given a fair and thorough investigation.
Who can make a complaint?
The person who believes they have been wronged may file the complaint; other persons may give statements as witnesses.
How to make a complaint
When a citizen has a complaint against a Police Department Employee (sworn or civilian), they may contact any Police Department supervisor, who will forward the complaint to the appropriate person. Complaints that are relatively minor in nature will be directed to the employee's supervisor. Allegations of serious misconduct will be forwarded to the department's Internal Affairs Office, located at 1102 W. Euless Blvd. in Euless, telephone 817-685-1555. A citizen may contact the Internal Affairs department directly regarding any complaint. Office hours are 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday.
Texas Law requires that all complaints against police officers, which may result in disciplinary action, be in writing and signed by the person making the complaint. Complaints of misconduct that are less serious in nature need not be in writing. Complaints must be made within 30 days of the incident unless special circumstances exist. The Euless Police Department takes all complaints seriously and will fully investigate each complaint received.
Filing a false complaint against a police employee is a violation of the Texas Penal Code, Section 37.02. If a person knowingly and intentionally makes a false statement under oath, or swears to the truth of a false statement previously made under oath, a person may be found guilty and punished by a fine up to $4000, confinement in jail up to one year, or both fine and punishment.
What happens when a complaint is upheld?
When the investigation finds that the charges against a police employee are true, the Chief of Police notifies the employee and may take one of the following actions:
- reprimand the employee verbally or in writing
- suspend the employee without pay
- demote the employee
- discharge the employee
Employees can appeal the Department's decision to uphold a complaint and the decision to discipline the employee.
What happens when a complaint is not upheld?
Complaints must be supported by sufficient evidence. When the investigation cannot find the degree of evidence necessary to prove the employee acted improperly, the employee and the citizen are both notified in writing.
What if you are not satisfied with the outcome?
You may appeal the findings of the Internal Affairs or supervisory investigation to:
- The Office of the Police Chief
Euless Police Department
1102 W. Euless Blvd.
Euless, Texas 76040
- The Office of the City Manager
City of Euless
201 N. Euless Blvd.
Euless, Texas 76039