History of the City Secretary's Office

The position of a city secretary has a history dating back to ancient Greece and is sometimes titled "city clerk." Early clerk scribes literally used the quill writing instrument. The clerk's office is always one of the first offices created when government is established, and the office is charged with keeping the official records of the government. This government position literally follows the history of writing itself, advancing from verbal, hand written, typed, and printed, to computerized, digitized and Internet-based documentation and communication technology.

The Euless City Secretary's Office of today uses modern technology to provide services to citizens, city council, staff, and other government agencies. Ordinances, minutes, and agendas are available on-line, and documents are maintained in accordance with the records management system mandated by the State of Texas. Election laws are both federal and state based, and this office must keep abreast of the latest legal requirements to ensure that all required standards are met. The challenges of official record keeping today, although increased in volume as compared to the past, is maintained by a trained, competent staff to ensure that the official records of the City are kept through time for current and future knowledge and historical documentation.

Euless City Secretaries Through the Years

  • Kim Sutter - 2011 to Present
  • Susan Crim - 1990 to 2011 (Retired)
  • Rosemary Gafford - January 1990 to June 1990 (Deceased)
  • Kay Rainey Godbey - 1981 to 1990 (Promoted to Assistant City Manager)
  • Della Houy - 1974 to 1981 (Deceased)
  • Vada Ferris - 1963 to 1974 (Deceased)
  • G. D. McAdoo, Jr. - 1961 to 1963 (Deceased)
  • W. E. Flippo (1st Full-Time Paid) - 1958 to 1961 (Deceased)
  • Thomas A. Kennard (1st Official Part-Time Paid) - 1955 to 1958 (Deceased)
  • J. S. Anderson (Sec. Treas.) - 1953 to 1955 (Deceased)
  • Searcy Dobkins - 1951 to 1952 (Deceased)